CMEA Bay Section is on Twitter!

The mission of the Bay Section of the California Association for Music Education is:

  1. to promote the advancement of music education;
  2. to cultivate social and educational interaction among its members;
  3. to assist its members in seeking individual and collective growth as musicians, educators, and conductors.

CMEA Bay Section is a regional affiliate of CMEA (The California Association for Music Education) and NAfME (The National Association for Music Education). Membership is open to all music educators working in public and private schools, colleges and universities in the areas within its boundaries. 

CMEA Bay Section is comprised of the following 8 areas:

  • Area I - Marin, Sonoma, and Mendocino Counties.
  • Area II - Contra Costa County.
  • Area III - Alameda County.
  • Area IV - Alpine, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne Counties.
  • Area V - Northern Santa Clara County.
  • Area VI - San Mateo and San Francisco Counties.
  • Area VII - Napa and Solano Counties.
  • Area VIII - Southern Santa Clara County.



All festivals have been named by their regions rather than by their Areas, since 2013-14. The regions are: 

  • North (Areas I & VII), representing Marin, Mendocino, Napa, Solano, and Sonoma counties.
  • East (Areas II & III), representing Alameda and Contra Costa counties.
  • South (Areas V & VIII), representing Santa Clara county.
  • West (Area VI), representing San Francisco and San Mateo counties.
  • Valley (Area IV), representing Alpine, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, and Tuolumne counties.


For more information on Festivals, click on the Festival tab, above.